• CCA Pulse Magazine

The MPAA rating system

The MPAA is the Motion Picture Association of America is the association that rates nearly every movie that hits the box office. The ratings that they have advised consist of the following: G, PG, PG-13, R and NC-17. Starting with the first, G, this is for a general audience and all ages are admitted. Next is PG, movies rated under this suggest parental guidance and some material may not be suitable for children. PG-13 contains some material that may be inappropriate for children under 13 and parents strongly caution. Next, standing for restricted, is R, these are movies that children under 17 are required to be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian. Last is NC-17 where no one 17 and under is allowed to see the film. These ratings have been modified to fit the need of the newer themes of movies. Each movie is carefully rated by the content it contains, words said, inappropriate references and so forth.

However, there is a new theory in the air that says that the MPAA is a conspiracy. It is said that if the MPAA dislikes something about a movie they are rating, they threaten movie directors with a NC-17 rating. Movies that receive an NC-17 rating do significantly less than movies that receive a R rating. This means that if a movie director does not change/ edit their movie to the MPAA’s standards then there movie will not be as successful.

In my personal opinion I think it is necessary for a new company to enter the spectrum and provide an alternate rating. Or if anything the MPAA should work with this new company to agree on a consensus to an appropriate movie rating. If the system is left the way it is great movies that receive a NC-17 rating will never have a fighting chance.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All